Archbishop`s Coat of Arms

Every Bishop, soon after his appointment, creates a personal Coat of Arms for himself as a sign of his Episcopal Ministry. In case he is promoted to a higher office or is transferred to another diocese, he generally continues with the basic design of his Coat of Arms adding, where necessary and as a goal of his new office, new features into his Coat of Arms.

MOTTO : “Quodcumque Dixerit Vobis Facite”

“Do Whatever He Tells You”. Jn. 2:5

Coat of Arms

The Prelate’s Hat: Indicates the pilgrim state of the Bishop.

The Golden Cross: Manifests the glory of Christ’s Resurrection.

The Shepherd’s Staff:The Cross here takes the form of the Shepherd’s staff with which the shepherd calls and brings back the straying sheep into this flock.

The Letter B: The Shepherd’s Staff curves in the form of the alphabet B which earlier stood for the Diocese of Belgaum, is now stands for the Archdiocese of Bangalore.

The Letter M:Stands for Mary, the Patroness of the Universal Church, who, as said in Cana in Galilee, now exhorts each one of us: “To do whatever He tells you.” (Jn. 2, 5).

The Red Shield: Symbolises the Pentecost or the descending of the Holy Spirit. The red colour stands for Martyria (witness) of the Apostle and his self-disposition to shed his blood for the Gospel.

The Golden Book:Signifi es the Holy Scripture, the fountain of life. On top of this Book are placed the four elements symbolising the four parts of the Catechism of the Catholic Church:

a. The Palm: Symbol of the Creed and Profession of Faith.

b. The Tablets of the Law: Symbolize the Decalogue, the way of life.

c. The Tree: Symbol of the Cross of Lord Jesus Christ from which springs forth the seven sacraments.

d. The ORANTE: (a person with hands raised above) symbolizes the Church at prayer.

The Liturgical Symbols of the Christian Passover: The shield contains the three elements on which the Christian life is based, namely: The Liturgy (Bread Broken & Cup of Chalice), The Word and The Community.

The Christian Family: The Domestic church, the basic unit of the Christian community, receives its life from the cross; and it is nourished by the Word, the Sacraments and the Teaching of the Church.